A better way of living has begun

by Renate


Not too long ago (a week to be exact) I decided enough with the fast food, enough with out of the freezer straight into the oven food me and the man I live with far too often choose when it comes to tea time in our little home. The closest thing we came to vegetables was when the man asked for Coke-vegetables, in hope I would allow him a glass or five of his favorite beverage. And even though the man himself was fairly pleased with our diet, I knew I had to be smarter for the two of us, as he would not take to his senses anytime soon.

Our first week of planned dinners + more vegetables + homemade meals has just passed, and I am surprised how well we did. Monday started our new and improved diet with a lemon & herb chicken on a bed of fruit in the form of a tropical salad. Tuesday was my longing-for-Norwegian-food day, so we had the closest thing I could find in the deeps of our kitchen cabinet. I served Swedish meatballs with new potatoes, a Norwegian meatball sauce and cranberry jam. A Scandinavian party on a plate! The following day we had a stir-fry, possible not the healthiest of options, but I ensured to have a lovely mix of fresh vegde in there, and the man ate it with few complaints.

Of all the lovely meals we had over the week however, my favorite must be the meal I cooked up for us on this very fine Sunday. Ovenbaked Salmon with lime, homemade potatoe mash and a cucumber salad, similar to the one my darling mother makes. This turned out to be a great success and the man ate two pieces of Salmon. Surely must’ve been a tasty meal then.

I am now making up a new list for the upcoming week, and I have found a very interesting recipe on Fotballfrue‘s blog (when I was writing the previous blog entry), which I might try out. It is a Moussaka recipe, and I think this will be either our Saturday or Sunday tea this week. Check out the recipe here. Now I only need to come up with 6 more meals. Hmmm…. Any ideas?

Follow my blog with Bloglovin